Hi, How Can We Help You?
  • Address: Veternik, 10000 Prishtinë
  • Email Address: office@tecol.eu


May 10, 2024

Finalists revealed – 2024 Interior Awards

Thirty-four projects and three Emerging Design Professionals have been selected as finalists for this year’s Interior Awards. Amongst them a lavishly tactile restaurant interior with painted stucco walls, a workplace with strong sculptural and directional design elements, a building that sets a new record in its Green Star rating, and an enigmatic music venue that cultivates community through the arts.

Moving on from the buoyancy and fun we craved post-COVID, the focus in many of these interiors has shifted to connectedness and authenticity. Colour palettes promote clarity and groundedness and show an empathy and insight towards the needs of those who inhabit the spaces.

Interior editor of Architecture NZ and convenor of the jury, Amanda Harkness, said the jury was overwhelmed by the number and calibre of entries this year. “Every year, there are one or two categories that we find difficult to narrow down to only three or four finalists but this year, there was some outstanding work across all categories.”

“From a brave, brutalist exercise in reduction, to a sensory, geothermal and cultural journey, to a culinary experience inspired by a Samoan fishing village, we’re really looking forward to hearing the stories behind these inspiring projects and people.”

Harkness said taking Education projects out from under the Civic umbrella into their own category had been a positive move. “Again, there was tough competition in this space but it’s great to see so much happening in this sector.”

Perhaps the most competitive activity was seen amongst the emerging design professionals, attracting more entrants than ever before, all of whom were designing at an incredibly high level.

Finalists will present live to the judging panel on Wednesday 22 and Thursday 23 May in Commercial Bay, Auckland and these presentations will also be live-streamed and available to watch on ArchitectureNow.

Winners will be announced at the Interior Awards event on Thursday 4 July at St Matthew-in-the-City in Auckland.

Congratulations to this year’s finalists:


Metita – CTRL Space
Ayrburn – Alexander &CO
Te Arikinui Pullman Auckland Airport Hotel – Warren and Mahoney in association with Space Studio.


Pohuehue House – Felicity Brenchley Architects
Coromandel House – EMA
House on a Hill – Stufkens + Chambers Architects

Residential Kitchen

Waitī House – Ko & Ko in association with Crosson Architects
Smale Street Renovation – Driver Ward Studio
Home Sweet Home – Rogan Nash Architects

Healthcare and Wellness

Wai Ariki Hot Springs & Spa – RCG
The Pool – Yoke
Studio Dental – SemiCreative


Marisfrolg Exhibition Gallery – Architecture van Brandenburg
Bremworth Experience Store – Izzard Design
isite – Warren and Mahoney
One New Zealand – Warren and Mahoney


The Pā, University of Waikato – Architectus, Jasmax and designTRIBE
Waimarie, Lincoln University flagship science facility – Warren and Mahoney in association with Lab-Works
Marian College – Sheppard & Rout Architects
B201 Building, University of Auckland – Jasmax


Te Whare Hononga – Tennent Brown Architects
Te Whare Hapori o Ngā Puna Waiora – WSP New Zealand
Papa Hou – Architectus

Workplace over 1000m2

Te Tihi, Aurecon Auckland – Warren and Mahoney
The Hayman Kronfeld Building – Peddlethorp
Precinct Properties workplace – Warren and Mahoney
Waka Kotahi, NZ Transport Agency national premises – Designgroup Stapleton Elliott

Workplace up to 1000m2

Halcyon – Wonder Group
Common – Pac Studio
Mark Frazerhurst Architects studio – Mark Frazerhurst Architects

Community Impact

St Hilda’s Anglican Church Island Bay – First Light Studio
Whiti Ora, Starship – TOA Architects and Studio DB
‘He Awa Ora Living River’, Whanganui Regional Museum – Dalgleish Architects
BIG FAN Recording Studios and Live Music Venue – Matthews & Matthew Architects

Emerging Design Professional

Icao Tiseli – Jasmax
Raphaela Rose – ahha
Jamie Howard  – RCG

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This field is required.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">html</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*This field is required.